Cajun Justice On A&E

Some of you might have noticed that I have met my duties as entertainment writer here at Distaff Sight by reviewing reality television. Maybe you wonder when I will branch out into entertainment that at least involves a plot.  Or maybe I’ll explore music.  Or something other than reality television.  Pfft.  Get over it.  It’s hotter than hell, and I may very well spend the entire summer hiding in my house, looking for reality television shows to bitch about.

I’m not sure what I think of Cajun Justice.  This reality show takes place in Louisiana’s Terrebonne Parish.  Led by Sheriff Vernon Bourgeois, Jr, deputies with nicknames like Highlights (he colors his hair), Catfish (she is as stubborn as a hard headed catfish), and Funkie Nuts (no explanation has been given and I don’t think I need one) dispense justice…Cajun Justice.

Don’t get me wrong.  The show does make me laugh.  I just have to wonder if it’s really pissing off Terrebonne Parish.  I have yet to see an episode that doesn’t feature at least one crazy call.   The ghosts of unbaptized dead babies braiding horse manes, grave robbing in order to obtain a ceremonial skull for a voodoo ceremony, the ill effects of a curse, and a shape shifting swamp monster called a Rougarou…there have to be some residents of Terrebonne Parish who are cringing in embarrassment over this television show.  Or maybe those people already moved away and left everything to the more colorful folk.  

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Marina Bridges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cajun Justice On A&E

  1. Jaye says:

    I caught part of this show, but then a certain short person thought I should be doing something other than watching television (for example: feed him) and I missed the swamp Big Foot! Did they get a picture of it? The show is really funny.

  2. juliabarrett says:

    Not interested in this show aside from the fact that it airs right before Longmire on A&E which I do like very much. Cajun Justice doesn’t seem awful…

  3. Hee hee. Without you, I’d never have heard of these reality programs. (I’m still trying to decide how I feel about that.) I love your take on them, at least. :D

Leave a Reply

