Three… three… three meals in one!

So I stopped by Whole Foods the other day to pick up some probiotics.  I don’t often shop at Whole Foods, not because of the prices – Whole Foods in our community realized they’d have to keep their prices in line with the other grocery stores if they wanted to remain competitive.  I don’t often shop there because the parking lot is the essence of hell.

Regardless of how much I detest that parking lot, I found myself at Whole Foods.  I noticed free-range chickens were on sale for $1.99 a pound.  I figured… Why not?  I’ll roast two chickens and see where they take me.

Meal One:

Brown-Butter Herb-Roasted Chicken with Sweet Potato Tzimmes.

I grabbed sage, rosemary, thyme and parsley from my herb garden.  Dropped the herbs into a pot with one stick of butter and simmered the butter until it turned into brown butter.

Meanwhile, I peeled and diced 1 large yam and 2 small apples.  Diced up 6 baby Yukon gold potatoes, peels on, sliced a sweet onion and mixed the veggies together with maybe a dozen pitted prunes I had left over from some other dish.  I stuck them in the bottom of a roasting pan, sprinkled on salt, pepper and a couple teaspoons of superfine sugar – tzimmes is a sweet dish.

I placed the chickens on top of the veggies, loosened the skin over the chicken breasts and spread part of the browned butter-herb mixture beneath the skin, drizzled the remainder over the two chickens.

Then I seasoned the chicken skin with dried sage, paprika, cumin, black pepper, kosher salt and annatto.  I stuck in a meat thermometer, covered everything lightly with foil and baked at 350′ for maybe 3 hours – until the meat thermometer read 185′.  I removed the foil and baked for an additional 10 minutes, then removed the chickens from the oven, covered them, and let them rest for 30 minutes.

When I was ready to serve I sliced up part of one of the chickens, spooned up some of the sweet potato tzimmes and served it with barely steamed asparagus.

Meal Two:

Just Picked Salad Greens with Cold Sliced Chicken, Sundried Tomatoes, Sweet Potato Tzimmes and Asparagus with Green Peppercorn Dressing.

I picked a bunch of Japanese greens from my garden, piled them in the center of the plates.  Sliced the breast of one chicken and layered the meat on top of the greens.  Sliced the leftover asparagus into thin strips and layered this on top of the chicken.  On one side of the greens I set a spoon of the cold tzimmes, on another side I set a spoon of marinated sundried tomatoes.  I spooned the dressing into another corner of the plate.

Green Peppercorn Dressing – This is something you have to play by ear depending upon what you have in your fridge.  Mix 1/2 cup buttermilk or sour cream with 1 scant Tbs. crushed green peppercorns, 1 tsp. kosher salt, 1/4 cup olive oil, a few pinches garlic powder, a few pinches sugar, and a couple handfuls (handsful?) of Asiago or Parmesan cheese.  Whip it good.  Serve immediately.

Meal Three:

Chicken-Vegetable Enchiladas.

Shred all the remaining chicken.  Mix with whatever you have available – barbecue sauce, salsa, tomato sauce – whatever.  I used a little over half a cup of spicy barbecue sauce.  Drain remaining vegetables.  Stick in a food processor or blender with 1 can of pinto beans or black beans.  Blend until it has the consistency of refried beans.

I prefer raw tortillas because they are very thin and light.  One of the grocery stores in town carries raw tortillas.  I had some on hand.  So I used my fry pan – no oil necessary – to cook them.  I stacked them after they were cooked through, covered them with a clean dish towel, and set them aside until I was ready to put together the enchiladas.

So you need 1 large can of red enchilada sauce – which I always have in my pantry – grated cheese and diced onions.  To prepare the enchiladas spray the baking pans with nonstick cooking spray.  Spread some enchilada sauce over the bottom of each pan.  (One can is good for two pans of enchiladas.)  Hold the tortilla in your hand.  Spread on a few Tbs. of the bean mixture,  couple Tbs. of the chicken, sprinkle on some chopped onion and a few Tbs. of grated cheese.  Roll up and press, rolled side down, into the baking dish.  Fill the baking dish.  Cover with remaining sauce and sprinkle on remaining grated cheese.  Bake at 350′ for 20-25 minutes.  This made two pans.  I stuck one in the freezer.

While the enchiladas are heating through, dice up one small head of iceberg lettuce, 1 bunch of green onions, 1/2 bunch of cilantro, 2 tomatoes, 2 avocados, and 1-2 jalapenos – seeded, ribs removed.  Layer in a large bowl.

Dish up the bubbly enchiladas and serve with the cold crunchy greens and sour cream or crema fresca.

Yum!  Yum!  Yum!

Sorry I don’t have pics.  We ate everything too fast.

About juliabarrett

I am an author of fiction and nonfiction.
This entry was posted in Activity, Cooking, Entertainment, Food, Gardening, meals, nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three… three… three meals in one!

  1. Yum. I like that you demystify brown butter. Do you puree the chicken with the beans for the enchiladas?

Leave a Reply

